NOTE: I recently posted an all-points bulletin asking people to send me pictures of their favorite gardens — theirs or someone else’s. I periodically feature these garden or gardenish images (with descriptive narratives) as they are sent to me. Please feel free to submit.

Mary Jane Makepeace

The garden is always messy as I am here, then gone. It sort of evolves on its own some years.

Mel garden 5

Gardening at 7,400 feet elevation has it’s challenges. If I improve the soil, it improves the salad bar access for the voles and pocket gophers. So plants have to be survivors.

Mel wildflowers

I have wild areas where I’ve scattered seeds collected in the fall and now those areas are starting to fill in with more flowers each year. The butterflies and bees love them. The green grass neighbor thinks they look pretty messy.

Melly's garden 2

Other beds are a mix of wildflowers and cultivar plants.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mel's garden 8

I began my garden with an orderly plan but found that the more unusual and expensive the plant the more it was desired by the woodland creatures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Melly garden

Oh well. I don’t kill the little beasts. We all have to get along. Seems they wax and wane depending on weather conditions. One might say I’m a hands-off gardener to a certain degree.

Mel's Wildflower garden

Mel's Hens &chicks

The bench was built in the early ’90s by Jim Robertson.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The iron bird arch is a Kristine Smock design.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Boss Dog planter is an ancient John Aaron sculpture and the crow sculpture is by MaryLynn Schumacher.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

