NOTE: I posted an all-points bulletin asking people to send pictures of their favorite gardens — theirs or someone else’s. I periodically feature these garden or gardenish images (with descriptive narratives) as they are sent to me. Please feel free to submit.

Elizabeth Bisbing

That summer we went up to the Catskills with some other painter friends (all of them landscape painters), I had no idea what I would work on. I started collecting wildflowers from the roadside. I was thinking about native plants versus invasive species and the folk and historical uses of these plants. That is what is written in pencil. I had a lot of fun researching all of that and serendipitously, there was a botanist down the street to help me!

Bull Thistle (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Bull Thistle (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Wild Thyme (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Wild Thyme (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Bittersweet Nightshade (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Bittersweet Nightshade (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Mullein (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Mullein (Wildflower series), painted paper collage: gouache, watercolor paper, 14 x 11 inches, 2012

Meanwhile:
Little Betty Jane climbs up and cavorts on a lupine plant.

