I have been so intensifyingly busy across the last year and a half with this project, Celebration! A History of the Visual Arts in Boulder (HOVABcelebratinos.org), that I’ve hardly had a moment in my garden. It’s a mess and I miss it.

Two of my dearest friends came to Boulder to be with me during the launch of Celebration! and just before they left this morning, they made a quick visit to the garden. They took these photos. I feel as if this is the closest I’m going to get to my temenos before winter descends. But while projects come and go, I know this wild, exquisite space will be here for as long as I am.

img_1246

img_1248-1

I shouldn’t complain. I did manage the other day to plant some Mount Everest aliums and a bag full of thalia narcissus. Today, I stopped by the hardware store, intending to buy something else entirely and walked out with tulip and daffodil bulbs. I guess it can’t be all that bad.

And my birthday is coming soon, so I’ve decided that there will be nothing more exciting, more festive, more fun than to empty and clean the pond, to play in the mud and muck. And maybe even light a candle in the duckweed.

